advertisement

Old Skateboarders...

The Powell Skull & Sword with white Bones (?) cubics, colour matched copers and rails... drool.

Hi Big Tabs

Hope you and yours are well

Bought my Stacey Peralta Warptail 2, powerflex wheels and tracker full tracks from Alpine sports for an eyewatering price in about 1976-7

It cost 5p each way on the 68 bus to get to and from waterloo South Bank with a box of jam sandwiches and a litre of orange squash. Later I frequented the brand new Brixton skate park and a host of other (free) skate parks. Ended up swapping all the bits so many times - I cant remember what I ended up with before calling that phase over for me.

I really can't allow myself to have another go.

Regards etc

Mike

Last edited:
I’ve very little knowledge of the ‘80s scene, but there are some great looking boards there! The artwork really took off in that era.

Just popped over to my The Daughters house (next door) and noticed she has dug out her old deck that I got her when she was about 9 years old.

It is an original Alva John Gibson Street, with a hint of Tri-Tail concave. Must he about 1989 ?

She hasn’t got it set up, so I have offered to set it up with trucks and wheels. Not sure she will bite as she has an every day stick set up for cruising.
(also noticed my drum kit which I haven’t had for a few years now)

Looked the deck up, looks like it would make £200 easy. Mental the prices for stuff that I don’t regard as that old. (I still have 1970’s Gullwings somewhere? and some ACS trucks I think. Definitely have a Lance Mountain deck in the loft.)

I hope she wants the Alva to be set up. I think I have some risers as nobody like ‘deck bite.’ :(

Hey all.
I started skating in either 88 or 89 at aged 10. My first deck was a Vision Gonzales with indies and slimeball vomit wheels. Donated by a neighbour who'd quit.