advertisement

Can we hear anything, allowed to hear anything, or are you deaf/stupid?

That’s the problem - a lot of words that intentionally or not bamboozle. Now have a look at the measurements Keith posted.
I have a regen but I didn’t buy it because of any technical pdfs. It’s not the ultimate but in certain dac configurations it’s really hard to say that it doesn’t make a difference.

I get why you say that.

The manufacturer might be hiding behind commercial sensitivities due to their BS but they might also be genuine. Copying is so very rife we can’t know easily which is the reason for hiding the technical details. Publishing specs gives massive clues about what has been implemented.
I’ll repeat, I’m no expert but surely a set of technical measurements does not give the game away with respect to design or implementation.

I’ll repeat, I’m no expert but surely a set of technical measurements does not give the game away with respect to design or implementation.
I can’t be sure about electronics or speaker drivers but in my field of IT if I get to know what and RPA system or AI / Cognitive has achieved it gives me a huge steer as to what to address.

You were sneering and you know it. In a thread that is complaining about on sneering at subj, this is not OK.

ok ok i guess i was being a bit snotty -sorry for that then - i've just seen SO MUCH of that toward the 'subjectivists' it seemed quite liberating at the moment (not as though i was directing toward anyone in particular but a phantom adversary)

In the late 1980s, when I started this hobby, it was common knowledge that engineers simply didn't have the right measurements that would validate what we actually heard.

Here we are 30+ years later, when one would expect that the science would have advanced and would finally have a more sophisticated set of tests that would align with our perception.