advertisement

which reference class A, A/B amplifier, under £1k second hand?

Aris Karastergiou

Hi all,

Despite having bought a couple of items from forum members, I have never posted before. I am an amateur in hi-fi audio at best, although I do care about the quality of the sound when I listen to music.

I have a chord qutest, bought recently from here, that feeds a class d nad c368 and kef r7s. Curiosity more than anything else is making me wonder what an "analogue" amplifier would sound like, replacing the nad. Something like the cambridge audio azur 851w perhaps? This would be meant as a test. Does anybody have other recommendations along these lines?

Thanks for your time.

The Cambridge won’t be a step up from the NAD, IMO.
A little Sugden would be great if your speaker’s sensitivity is over 86 dB.
In your situation though, I would give a try to the Rega IO if the number of inputs is enough for your needs.

If you want a power amp, what will you use as a pre? The pre out from your existing amps? Pre amps do contribute, often substantially, to overall sound quality.

What do you mean by 'reference' level? None of the amps suggested here meet with that criterion, in my view. Reference level amps will cost you a great deal more than £1k, even if bought used.

if you're actually asking 'what would be a significant improvement for under £1k, using Class A/B?' then that's a different matter. On the power amp front, I'd take a look at something from Exposure. You may even be able to snag an XM9 pair for a bit more than your budget. 3010s power amps do come up at under £1k. If you consider an integrated, then I notice a XXXV on eBay at £500, which is a very good amplifier. A more recent Quad may also suit; you should be able to get a used Artera for under £1k. You could also consider a Rotel RB1552 Mk2, which can be bought new for £800 or so.