advertisement

(new, but not the newest) Exposure sound

Afranta

pfm Member
I'm mostly happy with my Naim CD5X and Nait 5i (into Snell Type K/II). But on those odd occasions when I have a solid hour or two to listen to music, I find the sound tiring. The Naim route to a less aggressive sound, I've been told, is (1) swap the 5i for XS (2) power supplies. Neither appeals -- too pricey. I've had the chance to listen to the Rega Apollo/Mira, but that seemed to go too far in the opposite direction for me. How about Exposure? I'm especially curious about the original 2010/3010 series, as they seem to be a bargain s/h, but I have no experience of them and no chance to audition (hifi desert).

I have found the sweetest Naim is the old Chrome Bumper and Bolt Down stuff, I listen for hours and I never tire of it.

The older Exposure was very good but there are a couple of experts on that who may be along.

I have -- Quad 11L and Dynaudio X12 before the Snells. In my room, the Snells are excellent. I'd change electronics to suit them before changing them.

The sound was forward with the previous speakers, too. I do like the Naim presentation (if that's in fact what I'm describing), but just feel that sometimes it's too much of a good thing. Does that make sense?

I recently had the chance to hear a pair of very nice K's on the end of my Claymore - I was very impressed with them, but I'm not 100% sure they'd make me want to change my Royds for them. However, hearing those same K's, on the same day, powered by an Audio Innovations valve amp, they sounded slimply wonderful - a speaker/amp synergy which was so obviously correct.

So...

1. Do your Snells work well in your room? If so, then look at getting a different amp to drive them. Remember, the speaker/room interface is surely the most important aspect here - and the one, from my own experiences over the years, which is most difficult to get right. Once it's working, it's best not to fiddle with that interface! :)