advertisement

Interesting New Amplifier from Thomas and Stereo. Large capacitor banks good or bad?

OzBrit Audio

pfm Member
The YouTuber Thomas and Stereo has released an amplifier which caught my eye under his company Galion.

He is selling a 75WPC class AB amplifier which I believe he has specified and voiced and gets made in China. It sells for 1500 USD.

The reason for this post is not to say this is good or bad as I have no experience of it. But having read a no of very favourable reviews from those who have bought the amplifier and after viewing a couple of other YouTubers who reviewed it, this amp caught my eye. People say its presentation is one of transparency and air, detailed with top end sparkle, a black background but with mid range warmth and thunderous bass drive. It is the last point that caught my eye especially when looking inside the box which claims massive banks of capacitance. Here is Thomas's own introduction to his amp, lots of user comments associated with it.

What got me curious was the power supply design and the claimed effect this has on performance. Looking at the pictures inside the box you can see separate toroidals (definately a good thing), interestingly stacked one on top of each other separated by a metal plate (not sure about this, interaction of magnetic fields?) . The PSU board has one set of PSU caps with additional caps on the amplifier boards a claimed 200,000uf in total.

This configuration obviously works according to peoples reception to this amplifier. It goes against what I have thought gives the best performance for dynamics and bass slam in terms PSU banks. Avondale PSU boards have a maximum of 3 caps 30,000uf per side, Naim typically use a single 10,000uf per side in most of their amplifiers albeit with massively spec'd toroidal and whatever your opinion of Naim one thing they are not short of is bass slam or rhythmic drive.