advertisement

Goldring lenco help??

Lookaftering

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3108/2583343815_bb97e92914.jpg

Hello there.
I'm just wondering if anyone here is able to help me?
I'm getting quite interested in goldring lenco record players and have found a picture of one online that I like. To me, it doesn't look standard, like someone has converted the plinth, simplified the whole it cosmetically. I have added a link to the picture of it, above, and just wondered if anyone here knew where it was from? The picture is either from this website or Flickr, I can't tell.
Any help in either finding one like it, or even who converted it would be really helpful.
Any ideas?
My email address is [email protected], and I'm slightly more contactable through that, though I'll obviously check back here.
Thanks in advance for any help offered.
Kind regards, Samuel.

I'm not an expert but it doesn't look like a Lenco, or at least like the Lencos I've seen. The classic Lenco (L75, L78) have a lever on the bottom left-hand side to change the speeds. Unless someone has elminated the seed-changer and set it for only 33.3333333. But even then, by so doing they would have elminated the possibility of regulating the speed.

As Dominic and Paul say, that's a Thorens TD150. It looks to be in a Linn-type plinth with a custom armboard. I suspect the plinth to be a Henk model for a Linn LP12. One of our memebers here had one, it was a lovely thing (looked very (very) similar to that pic) and he sold it for not a lot of money at all.

As others have said it's not a Lenco , but Lenco's can be simplified and replinthed ,
here's one I did .

Picture002-9.jpg

Wow. Thanks people, that's a lot of info for a novice. I'll go away and research it.
Steve, any chance of finding a picture of that converted one so I can see it. I assume I'll be able to re plinth it myself if I buy a thorens td 150? I am a joiner, so the woodwork side of it won't be hard.
Does this sound do able?