advertisement

for the photographers...

bottleneck

pfm Member
just curious, I'm a complete amateur at photos.

what do the more serious camera users say are the most common mistakes made by the ignorant masses, and how do you fix them easily?

(hoping to pick up 1 or 2 handy hints!)

bottleneck said:
just curious, I'm a complete amateur at photos.

what do the more serious camera users say are the most common mistakes made by the ignorant masses, and how do you fix them easily?

My most common mistake is to think there's film in the camera when there isn't. This risk is eliminated by digital cameras.

the biggest mistake is to include too many elements in the pictures. most novices stand too far away from the subject.

vuk.

On the film camera, taking photos with the lenscap on (it's a rangefinder, so you don't see that the lenscap is on). Done this a few times. On digital, it's accidentally deleting the wrong image. WIth compact cameras, it's generally the finger-over-the-lens or forgetting to focus & recompose (and ending up with the subject out of focus and the background in focus).

Something I am learning is to avoid flash where ever possible, this fixes red eye as well ;)

Try not to bother with arty background out of focus type shots if your lens is not up to bokeh (Background blurryness)

And under no circumstances start a thread on light meters, it will only land in tears.

The first rule is there are no rules. Just take a lot more photos that you think you should (esp. if you have a digi), and try to learn what about each picture you like/dislike. Develop your own sensibility, since you will most likely be the one appreciating the photos. You'll understand a lot more about what you can control in a photo if you start with a manual focus camera.

Dan

Agree with vuk and would add:

Move your feet not your lens: you'll hardly ever get a good picture from the spot you happen to be standing in when you pull out your camera.