advertisement

Epos K2 on home demo

Njb

pfm Member
I have never tried to review any hifi gear before, so apologies if my novice effort causes any angst amongst those who are rather more experienced.

I have a Naim 62/150X system, driven by a Beresford Bushmaster II DAC and either an iPod or Arcam CD 73T source. I have a selection of speakers, but that is another story and peripheral to this post. Let us just say that my favourites are a pair of Epos ES14s from the early 90s. I love them, but one has a minor fault and I suspect that they might survive a while longer if I have them for occasional use. So, I have been looking around, and my eyes settled on the new Epos K2. Yesterday my local dealer dropped off a pair for a week's home demo. This demo set has a few months under its belt, so what I am hearing should be the full effect post run-in.

I had already decided that I wanted them in black, but the demo set are white and are actually quite stylish. They do have quite a striking appearance with the white case contrasting with the black drive units. My walls are white and they blend in and I am already rethinking whether black is better as it might look a bit blocky.

I originally positioned them, using the supplied spikes and floor protectors (my landlord loves me), 20cm from the rear wall as per the Epos manual. However, they did boom a little and so I have them around 25cm out. It is surprising how much difference a small movement made and clearly the front port design has not removed the need for a little space around them. I have toed them in slightly, Epos says it is not quite so important, but the treble seems clearer that way.