advertisement

Woo hoo - just bought my first DSLR

rbrown

I think therefore I think I am
I've been quietly following these photo pages for ages and there are some fantastic images here so I have been inspired to have a go myself. I have bought a second hand Nikon D80 which arrives tomorrow. It comes with an 18-135 kit lens. The lens seems to have pretty mixed reactions on photo forums but I guess it will good enough as a starting point. Is anyone familiar with it?

I will look into photography courses at our local college, has anyone gone down this route or are you self taught?

Anyway can't wait til tomorrow.

Cheers,

Rich

Cheers Lefty, I must admit I have never picked one up, just purely went on the reviews. Anyway, looking forward to joining in!

Rich

Congratulations, i bought my first DSLR today too!
Canon 400D for me, second hand witha pair of Canon zooms to boot cant wait to get out & about :)

Paul

Hi Rich,

Your D80 is a good solid choice and don't be too down on the lens - a kit lens is meant to be a compromise. My brother's got a D80 and I've a D90, so the odd time we head away something we can share lenses which is a bonus.
If you're going to do a course then do it early - otherwise if you leave it 6-12months you'll struggle to find one that isn't either too advanced or too basic.

Rob

I only started with a DSLR a year or so back and I still have to think hard and refer to the manual for some (OK.. a lot of ) things, but you'll soon pick up the basics. FWIW, I usually stick with aperture priority and go from there, but what would I know?
I'm a bit of a fan on Tom Ang's books, which can often be picked up in offices subject to 'Book People' type drops. My latest is 'Digital Photography Masterclass' ( ISBN 978-1-8561-3131-5), which seems to deal with most things, though I haven't reall read it properly yet. Might save the cost and time involved in a course, though I'm also sure a course could be a very enjoyable thing.

Good luck!