advertisement

Volumio Help

glenn jarrett

pfm Member
Hi
looking to have a tinker with volumio
i know most people use a pie but can you install volumio on an android box ?
M8s pro 3 gig ram 16 gigflash
total newbie to this
Glenn

You do not need an app. You find the 'Volumio' wifi address on your router and log on to that from your phone's (oe your PC's) search engine. You can place that on the screen as Volumio. You will see when you try it.

If you are streaming from your PC you should look at piCore player and use Squeezebox and LMS. Volumio is better when you have all your music files on a USB stick in the device itself. Just switch it on and it is ready too use. No need for a PC or NAS box that way.
Oh and the 3B is best here still for either player.

You want a Pi with a bit of grunt, Volumio struggles on slower hardware like a first-gen Pi. Pi3B is a good choice. And agree with regard to PiCorePlayer and LMS - it's a more complex setup but so very versatile if you are streaming from a local network source.

i have got everything running now
my pc , pi, router, all on wifi
on my computer i have a drive with my music on
how do i stream from my computer drive to my pi ?

I am not very familiar with Volumio (I have tried it, but a long time ago). However, can Volumio be set up to run a UPnP/DLNA (or AirPlay) renderer? According to this link I think so (by default even).

If so then on a PC I suspect you may be able to right click on a media file and select Volumio from the "Cast to Device" list. There may be media players for the PC that can output to a UPnP/DLNA or AirPlay renderer for a more convenient solution.

Umm, I'm no digerati either, but I've just burned a Volumio to an SD card and it works straight out of the box.
Have a look in the 'Media Servers' box, does your PC appear there? If so click on it and it should open up the shared locations. You can select music from there.