advertisement

Vampire Squid boss defends eating their own young

It happens in all the big accountancy and Law firms here as well, my daughters fiancée worked for one of the big four accountancy firms and was easily working 80 plus hours a week sometimes a 100. They didn’t seem to care that most of the good ones buggered off after qualifying.

Obviously, "going the extra mile", in the way their talking about it, benefits the employer because if you con your employees into working twice the number of hours they're contracted for, you only have have hire and pay half the number of employees.

I'm a software engineer, and every employment contract I've had (except the very first as a "graduate engineer") has had working hours of 35/40 hours per week. But they all included a phrase along the lines of: "... but, as a professional grade employee, you are expected to work sufficient hours to complete your tasks, as required, without overtime".

I think that's intended as a "in extremis, you'll be expected to dig us/yourself out of a hole, when required". In practice, it usually seems to be interpreted as "management has carte blanche to pile as much work as they want on you, and if it's more than 40 hours worth of work, you work more than 40 hours".

It also completely ignores the reality that, at some point, serious overwork results in excessive tiredness and results in poor concentration and poor decision making - and that's probably not great for the bank, it's customers, or the economy as a whole.

It's the norm in the American high status corporations. I've bumped into a few McKinsey types in factories, the expectation is that you will be on site all day until 6 or 7, then back to the hotel, meal there or nearby, then another 2 or 3 hours typing up reports. If you don't deliver, then you won't stay.