advertisement

Upgrading from Fuji X-M1

John Channing

fruit box forever
I have been using the X-M1 for two years and although it has a lot of strengths , I feel the lack of an optical view finder is really limiting the quality of shots I am able to take. I am tempted by an X-T1 at just over £500, would you recommend it at that price or should I look at the X-Pro2 or something else?

It's pretty personal at this sort of level, the electronic finder on the X-T1 is excellent, and obviously the optical finder on the Pro1/Pro2 is a different kettle of fish, looser framing, but basically more like a rangefinder. There's no wrong answer.

I went through a not dissimilar process - recorded in the recent Fuji X Pro 1 thread. I was upgrading and older XE1 and couldn't decide between the XE2S with more glass and the XT1. In the end I went for the XE2S which is a huge upgrade on the XE1 but within a body I like and enjoy shooting with - and partly because it is closer to the X100 which I also own - the XE1 was at one time described as an X100 with changeable lenses

That said, I do still lust after an XT1 and, given that the XT2 is apparently going to be announced any day, may pick one up when prices tumble as people upgrade.

I prefer the rangefinder form so, not having the funding for an X Pro 2 stuck to the XE body. For me this suits prime shooting more, which is what I tend to do. If I was gong to use more telephotos the weight of the XT1 would have been more attractive. The XF 18 - 135, for example, looks a very versatile lens but is a lot chunkier and heavier than any of my current primes.

However, as Cesare says, there are no wrong answers, just lots of right ones.

Kevin

If you want a big bright EVF then the X-T1 is the one to have.

If you want weathersealing then the X-T1 is the one to have

If you print regularly larger than A3 then the X-Pro2 is the one to have (or wait for X-T2)