advertisement

This more than quite good. Bach.

In a more historic style this is also more than quite good:

Isn't the Double concerto one of the best pieces of music?

ATB from George

In a more historic style this is also more than quite good:

Isn't the Double concerto one of the best pieces of music?

ATB from George

When I was teenager and did the regular things (having issues on school, stopped playing the organ (but I came back)) one of the remaining things I kept doing was listening to some Brandenburg Concertos and Violin Concertos - especially the middle part of this violin concerto. It took a few years more when I started playing the organ again.

I do remember this piece also from when I was 5 or 6 and my parents took me on holiday to Switzerland. Also, they had Mozarts Symphony 35 'Haffner' by the Berlin Philharmoniker and Albinioni's Adagio in the car. O wait, I should not forget Pachelbels canon.

Fifth Brandenburg Concerto:

ATB from George

Very nice. Brandenburg 5 was a historic moment, when the harpsichord, traditionally a continuo instrument, stepped into the limelight for a solo. This one is nicely paced (there is the tendency to make it very "virtuoso" by playing it very fast).

My intoduction to Bach was the Menuhin version with the Bath Festival Orchestra. I haven’t listened to it for 40 years or more.

The first version I bought was the Virtuosi of England on two Classics for Pleasure LPs. I still have the LPs and also have it on a double CD coupled with the violin concertos.

I must get to Leipzig some time. As a non-religious person it’s the nearest I’ll come to a pilgrimage.