advertisement

Testing Tannoy Drivers

Beadlesabout

Assume I’m a complete amateur (I am) but keen to learn.

I have x4 tannoy monitor gold 12” R drivers and I want to work out which is the best pair to keep by taking meaurements.

What equipment do I need and what’s the best method to use?

Many thanks in advance

I’ve been reading about REW. Most people seem to be using a MiniDSP UMIK-1 microphone. Is that overkill? I’d rather spend less money if possible.

I’d like a microphone with its own USB interface so I don’t need to buy an external sound card as well.

The reason I ask about method is I think some people test the driver without the cabinet. Is that preferred?

I’ve been reading about REW. Most people seem to be using a MiniDSP UMIK-1 microphone. Is that overkill? I’d rather spend less money if possible.

I’d like a microphone with its own USB interface so I don’t need to buy an external sound card as well.

The reason I ask about method is I think some people test the driver without the cabinet. Is that preferred?

I think the Umik-1 is pretty much the cheapest calibrated mic you can get, and native USB so no interface required, hence why it's popular.

Thanks all.

If someone can help me with the method (just the positioning and if the driver should be in the cabinet or not)

Tannoys are very hard to measure IME. They use a compression driver horn-loaded through the bass unit and as such are very directional at close distances. As such a tiny error in mic position, literally just a cm or less, will often show. I’ve done it many times and found it a really frustrating process and to be honest I think you’d need a jig to do it accurately.