advertisement

TD125 Vs LP12

matt j

pfm Member
Going from TD125 -> LP12, considered an up/side/down grade?

Bear in mind I have zero LP12 knowledge, I'm not from that generation so the endless spec available seems like another language to me. My head says it's a side grade at best seeing as it's just another 3 point sprung fruit box.

I'm after a serious upgrade/final TT scenario, even if it means living with a less than ideal arm until the budget can stretch to 'the final arm' scenario etc..

A considerable upgrade.

It was in 1984, so no reason to think it wouldn’t be now.

Care to elaborate? I'm struggling to see how something technically inferior is a considerable upgrade.

Well, as someone who owned an LP12 for over twenty years, I'd now say that it was a downgrade, but then, what do I know?

Best advice? Use your own ears rather than rely on opinions.

Why not try a different design? I like my 125 but when I got a Gyro there was no mistaking it for a sideways move.

The TD125 is a superb deck and underrated in my view. It will rotate a LP quietly and accuratly at the right speed as well as could sensibly matter. Spend your money on a cartridge, arm or phono stage upgrade instead.

The TD125 is a superb deck and underrated in my view. It will rotate a LP quietly and accuratly at the right speed as well as could sensibly matter. Spend your money on a cartridge, arm or phono stage upgrade instead.

...and the 125 looks fab!

Sorry to lower the tone, I’ll get my coat.

I've owned 4 LP12's, TD150, numerous TD160, TD160S and a TD125. The only one I still have is a TD125. Does it sound better than an LP12? I think so, and it cost about 1/4 of the price of an LP12. I recently bought a good condition Garrard 401 and it might just have the edge over the TD125 - it sounds different but not sure it's 'better'. Here's a couple of pics of my TD125.

125_1.jpg

125_grace.jpg