advertisement

Streaming Hardware/Software Options, Questions, Solutions

DimitryZ

pfm Member
I am new to the world of online streaming, trying to setup an inexpensive Tidal/MQA, Spotify and Qobuz platform. S2 Digital is the current MQA DAC. Currently using noname W10 Tablet with LPS to S2D/LPS to all Emotiva amplification and Eminent Technology 8B planars/Velodyne subs.

Curious to learn advantages and disadvantages of hardware streamers and software solutions, like Roon and LMS.

As I understand from your other posts, you have no need for CD ripping or local storage. That simplifies matters a bit, though the addition of MQA does complicate them.

Software: you can run all or most of your streaming through one app or one set of related apps. LMS (Logitech Media Server, a.k.a. Squeezebox Server) will stream everything you mentioned above except the MQA portion of Tidal, and would probably be the least expensive way to start as the app is free, some tablet control apps are free, and most of the hardware is inexpensive. Roon and Audirvana will stream Tidal in MQA, but not Qobuz or Spotify as far as I know, and they are not free.

Hardware: If you did not require MQA, I'd recommend trying a used Squeezebox Touch (which has LMS built in), at least to start with. For the software that currently supports MQA, you're usually talking about running something on a server (placed where you'd otherwise put a streamer, or remote and communicating with a separate streamer like a microRendu). I'm sure many here will chime in to support DIY or pre-built server/endpoint solutions based on Rasberry Pi, Vortexbox, Intel NUC, and others. Moving higher in cost, there are also proprietary streamers available from Naim, Auralic, and others that support Tidal and MQA but won't support all of the other services you mentioned. Some of the above include internal DACs, but all would connect to your external DAC as well.