advertisement

Speaker driver mismatch? Soundstage & vocals shift to one side.

ossy

pfm Member
I’ve got a pair of ruark sabre 3’s. I’ve been using them for around a year but have noticed that the sound stage and vocals in particular tend to be shifted more to one side.

I swapped the cables, no change. I swapped the speakers and the bias shifted.

On closer inspection one of the speakers has had the drivers removed at some point (this happens to be the one which the bias shifts towards). I am wondering whether this speaker has been repaired at some point and new drivers put in. I guess this accounts for the soundstage/vocal shift but I am no expert?

The speakers sound good but I am now constantly noticing the shift to one side.

If the sound is correct, just shifted, surely adjusting balance will get you most or all of the way to correcting things?

Are the drivers correct - both speakers have the same ones?

Yep, drivers are the same. My Amp doesn’t have a balance control. I just wondered that when a driver is replaced, is it difficult to match them. One of the speakers is definitely more sensitive then the other.

No balance????????? No two gang volume pot with split volume knob? Nothing?

Not at all something that I am well versed in, but modern drivers tend to be very similar and pretty much inter-changeable.

Is it possible to remove the crossovers from both speakers and visually compare them? Maybe the one that has been previously taken apart has been modified or not reconnected correctly.

If they are identical then I would start swapping things between the speakers one at a time. Swap the crossovers and see if the soundstage shift moves to the other side, if not, then try a tweeter and if not then try a woofer.

Once you isolate the culprit then you can look at obtaining a replacement. I guess at this stage, you don't know if the less sensitive speaker or the more sensitive one is at fault.