advertisement

Soncoz SGD1 User experience

Darren

So gentle when he tries to understand.
I've been asked a couple of times to comment on the new SGD1 which I've owned for a short period now.
My system isn't very high res and I'm not very experienced but... I'll do my best.

Ok , first things first - Keith @Purité Audio. He's prompt, polite and enthusiastic. He's cheaper than Amazon and you are supporting a small UK business. What's not to like? I would buy off him again without hesitation. Also, My SGD1 arrived boxed and then wrapped in two layers of brown paper - how quaint. It was like getting a package from your favourite aunty :)

My previous dac was a Khardas tone board which I had purchased because I'm skint (doing up a new place) and it said on Audio Science review that the Khardas has great measured performance and sound for very little money. It did sound good and it was cheap. It didn't instil any pride of ownership.... but you get what you pay for right?

I bought the Soncoz because it looked like a 'real' piece of kit ( I'm an audiophile and I love the kit ), it had some great reviews, it seemed superb value for something state of the art and also because sq liked it - sq is merciless so if he says its good, then it probably is. ( I'm about 96% serious)

Ok, build quality is fine, the controls work well. The LED back lighting is soft and classy. The multi-function volume control thing looks and feels a bit cheap but works well enough. I'm using the optical input for a Chromecast audio and the coax for my cd player. I haven't logged the unit onto my wifi because you have to download an app and I cant currently be arsed.
Sound quality genuinely surprised me. I vary between thinking that the stuff Amir comes out with on ASR is a load of measurist crap or thinking he is really shaking up the established rules of the audiophile game with his strict approach to distortion and noise. Often I just 'dunno'