advertisement

Some comparisons

RoA

pfm Member
A quick comparison between my headphones after perhaps 3 weeks with them (the Grado I had for some time). I am no headphone expert so rather than going into great detail at this stage I just compare them to each other. All totally subjective and your mileage ... . All EQ'd in Roon.

Soundstage:
Best; Beyerdynamic DT700 ProX joint 2nd: Hifiman Sundara/Meze 99 Classic 3rd; Grado SR80X

Accuracy:
Best; Beyerdynamic DT700 ProX 2nd: Hifiman Sundara 3rd; Meze 99 Classic 4th; Grado SR80X

Most Accurate Bass;
Best; Beyerdynamic DT700 ProX 2nd Hifiman Sundara 3rd; Meze 99 Classic 4th; Grado SR80X

Bass Slam;
Best; Meze 99 Classic 2nd; Beyerdynamic DT 700 ProX 3rd; Hifiman Sundara 4th; Grado SR80X

Best Midrange;
Best; Beyerdynamic DT700 ProX, joint 2nd; Grado SR80X / Mezze 99 Classic 3th; Hifiman Sundara

Best Treble;
Best; Beyerdynamic DT700 ProX Joint 2nd; Mezze 99 Classic / Hifiman Sundara 3rd; Grado SR80X

Most Fun;
Joint 1st; Mezze 99 Classic / Grado SR80X 2nd; Beyerdynamic DT700 ProX 3rd; Hifiman Sundara

Most 'resolving';
Best; Beyerdynamic DT700 ProX 2nd Meze 99 Classic 3rd; Hifiman Sundara 4th Grado SR80X

Easiest to drive;
Joint 1st; Grado SR80X / Meze 99 Classic / Beyerdynamic DT700 ProX 2nd; Hifiman Sundara

Build;
Best; Joint 1st; Mezze 99 Classic / Beyerdynamic DT700 ProX 2nd; Hifiman Sundara 3rd; Grado SR80X

Comfort;
Joint 1st; Hifiman Sundara / Beyerdynamic DT700 ProX Joint 2nd; Grado SR80X / Mezze 99 Classic

Accessories;
Best; Meze 99 Classics ... then the others

When I receive the Sennheiser H58X Jubilee and had a little time with it I will try and do a more proper evaluation including showing EQ settings and explaining my findings/reasons. Some of the above may change in the meantime.

Last edited:
Interesting results.
Very subjective things, headphones.

I found the Beyerdynamic 700 Pro X just a bit bland and uninspiring.