advertisement

Small speaker design

mil46

pfm Member
Hi all, looking to build a decent small speaker. Unfortunately due to space restrictions , I am getting rid of my floorstanders and going for wall mount (via heavy duty brackets) Can either be single driver full range or traditional tweeter/woofer. Typical dims will need to be approx 280 high x 150 wide x 180 deep. These will be driven by Densen 60w cast amp and Questyle PRE/DAC
I can get the cabinets made myself. Budget up to £800 or so.
Im a novice but will be an interesting little project. Any ideas out there or designs that anyone has used before?
Thanks

Wall mounting a speaker around those dimensions would require a crossover around 300 Hz or so depending on cabinet size and appropriately positioning the woofer near the wall and midrange/wideband driver far from the wall to remove the effect of the strong reflection off the front wall. For high fidelity this would be a 3 way but fans of single driver speakers are enthusiastic these days about crossing to a woofer around this type of frequency while keeping a smallish wideband driver for all the frequencies above. WAW or FAST are common labels for this approach if you want to google. I am not a fan of wideband drivers myself but the on wall location and your 2-way vs wideband suggestion would seem to make it a natural choice.

any recommendations on driver manufacturers please. I like a nice clear midband and rather the HF wasnt rolled off? Potential to make the speakers a bit wider, say 170 wide so that I can fit a 6 inch driver. Been reading about Fostex and Jordan Eikona?

Robert’s Scalford AR 22 Tribute design used a refoamed AR woofer for the low bass and a Cotswolds BMR from around 300Hz up and optional supertweeters. Never heard them but always fancied having a go.

There are some supprisingly good drivers on Aliexpress, which would be ideal for a first time. They even have some planar ribbon tweeters which you could cross at 300hz.