advertisement

Rotel 965BX CD Player tweaks

WJJ

pfm Member
Hello. Does anyone have any experience or advice on modding a Rotel 965BX CD? I've picked one up for a 5 quid from a local car boot.

It works perfectly and was wondering if I could tweak it to improve it's performance. I seem to recall reading something about this a while ago.

As it didn't cost me alot I've got nothing to lose really.
Any input would be greatfully received as I've not attempted modifying equipment before so i am new to this.....Cheers Wayne

Hi, I have no experience with tinkering on the inside of the Rotel, but as I own one I can tell you that it benefits alot from proper isolation against vibration. Using sorbothane feet takes it into a different league. It is also very sensitive to the quality of mains power.

Yep.

Op amps would be your first experiment. Whip out the 5532's and solder in some sockets.

OP627's and OPA2604's are worth a try. The former more lively, the latter smoother.

Then there's output caps, and some decent panel-mount sockets.

The RCD 965 is a pretty decent sounding player as it is, so doesn't need massive tweaking.

You could also go for a clock if you're generally happy with what it's doing.

Thanks for the replies so far. I intend to use it as an alternative to a Marantz SA7001KI which, to my ears anyway, is quite smooth and easy to listen to. My preference would be to liven things up a bit with the 965 and would go down this route.

As I said in the OP I'm new to this, where would I go to buy components if I wanted to attempt these mods?