advertisement

Roon user here. But how to manage local library?

jamesd

pfm Member
(all of the following is based on Mac OS):

I've used iTunes as a music server and library organizer for years. For the past 2 years, I've used Roon as my front-end and iTunes (now Music) to manage my library. If I download a new album, I just drag it to the iTunes icon and it organizes things appropriately. Easy. Perfect.

Now I've purchased a new Macbook Pro, wiped my old computer and moved it over to be my Roon core. Roon works great. It's still pointing to my external hard drive and I've been using it for a few months.

I just bought a bunch of new music off of Bandcamp today and realized I'd never setup iTunes/Music on the "new" computer/Roon core. I'm having a little trouble pointing iTunes/Music to my library on the external hard drive. That made me think: do I need iTunes at all now?

How do I add albums to a hard drive that Roon is watching? It looks like I'd have to do some manual folder management/lite data entry and I have no interest in that.

Is there an app for Mac OS that will auto-arrange albums that I drag into the app the same way iTunes/Music does?

Thanks

I run my Roon core on my iMac pointing at storage on an attached hard drive.
I have only ever used iTunes to manage my mp3s for ease of transfer to the iPhone or iPad.

Roon rmanages perfectly well all by itself with everything (WAV, FLAC, AIFF etc) on the HD. When I downloaded my albums this morning I just dragged the folders from "download" to the appropriate place on the HD and Roon found them straight off.

My classical is just a mix of whatever dbpoweramp chose to create in the way of folder names - pretty messy if you start using the Finder to locate something. Totally transparent in Roon. Besides, if I need know where the folder is I just use the "file info" function in Roon. I ripped the classical once I had Roon. Rip, check in Roon, move on to the next disc...