advertisement

Rega RP8 vs Michell Gyro SE. Advice Needed!

Mr.Nic

pfm Member
Long time board lurker looking to upgrade my TT from my existing RP3. I’ve narrowed my choice down to the 2 mentioned in the title. I know that a fair few of you have owned or experienced these, so any advice gratefully received.

My budget is around the £2K mark and I’d be probably be looking to add a Dynavector 10x5 cart to whichever I buy. My current amp is a Rega Elex-R (no dedicated phono stage - hence not going full MC on the cart) and my speakers for this system are B&W 684 S2.

Gyro SE all day long- however l am very biased as l do own one, sounds, great looks cool, and a good upgrade path.

I've no experience of either, and so am willing to be shot down in flames, but I think both will benefit greatly from a better cart than the 10x5. Maybe consider an Ortofon 2M Black or one of the better Nagaoka MMs if MM it must be.

(As an aside, my local Cash Converters recently had a gyro SE, Technoarm and 2M Black for £1k. Whilst I didn't check the condition of it, I snoozed and lost; it was snapped up).

I had an Orbe with an SME IV and now have an RP8, and my opinion is that the RP8 is a much better and more musical turntable than the Michell deck.

I know you say you've already narrowed it down, so sorry for an off topic response, but have you considered the Avid Diva II? Better than either of your options, IMO.

And a level up are the Clearaudio turntables. Plus, with the single exception of the Roksan, their arms are better.