advertisement

Rega P3 experiments

davidsrsb

pfm Member
I have been fixing up my second hand early P3, 240 V motor
Playing the Elipson tests record, the 3150 Hz track measure 3200 Hz, so a little fast

I recorded that track and a bit of processing in LTSpice detects the wow and flutter to be mainly 0.55 Hz at only 0.05%, remarkably good.

Looks like I need a mains synthesiser

People seem to have noticed that the new Rega belts (EBLT) run slightly slower than the older ones so that might be cheaper than a mains synthesizer.

People seem to have noticed that the new Rega belts (EBLT) run slightly slower than the older ones so that might be cheaper than a mains synthesizer.

Maybe the new belts are mostly on decks with the newer power-supply.. ?
I have trouble understanding how a belt alone can make a deck slower,
and if it would it appears to me it must have a certain amount of slip / less traction ?

I am an electronic engineer so the synthesizer is a challenge.
Getting a Rega belt in Malaysia is not so easy

Not that the speed worries me so much, I dont have perfect pitch. Low wow and flutter is far more important

Testing with HFS75 today and the 3 kHz track measures as 2999 Hz, W&F still excellent
Now I am wondering what my mains is up to

As one record is about 1.5% fast and the other spot on is it worth checking one directly after the other to see it it is one of the records that is 'out'? As you say though it could be the mains frequency and stability is much more important that absolute speed.
I couldn't understand how one belt can be slower than another, but if a softer more compliant belt is used, it stretches slightly more on the tension side so is effectively longer that the harder belt and therefore runs slower, everything else being equal.

^ This.

The Rega pulleys have flat sided V-shaped belt paths, wherein, a fatter round cross-section belt will run very slightly faster, vs. a thinner cross-section belt will run very slightly slower.