advertisement

Rega integrated amplifiers

Hepokatti

pfm Member
Strengths? Weaknesses? Older amps' values? Just random discussion.

I'm particularily interested in Luna, Brio 3, Mira 3 etc..lower end models. Had Brio-R, and it is the only one I've some experience with.

Is there any database or history of these amplifiers in interweb?

I had a Brio 3 before upgrading to the Brio R. It was excellent for the little I paid for it and didn't think the R was that much of an improvement in sonics but the remote and the visual matching to the Apollo R was enough to justify it.

I still have a Luna running in a second system. Very versatile amp, as it can be used as a pre or a power as well as an integrated obviously.

I think they are 40WPC with built in MM phono stage.

It has been serviced once since I bought it new around 1998, but this was because the source selector switch became faulty. I haven't changed any caps etc, so it may not sound as good as it should, I don't know really.

Not the last word in transparency, kind of a slow, warm sound when driving Acoustic Energy 109 speakers. Very different to the Nait 3 I tried at the time, which was quite harsh in comparison.

Nicely built with metal clam-shell case too.

I'm running a Mira 3. This little bugger amazes me daily- not with its' sound quality (which will always be a matter of taste), but with its' ability to drive difficult speaker loads confidently. After having lived with it for several years and in different system configurations, I've concluded that the digital volume control is key to the overall presentation. Coming from a more conventional potentiometer-equipped amp, it takes some getting used to, but I'm now convinced that it's the way to go. Some will wish for a less polite sound, but I'm quite happy.

I would be cautious to aquire clapshell amplifiers due to some quality issues.
Wonder why Radio and Planets didn't have those.

A friend had the first Brio and lovely amp its no longer working.