advertisement

Rega Apheta 2 Higher frequency issue

CliffB

pfm Member
Hi,

I have been running a Rega RP10 with Apheta 2 for about 9 months. It is just the kind of record player I love and presents exactly what is on the recording with a tight, accurate and musical sound and impressive soundstage. The rest of the system is a Rega Aura phono stage, MF Nu-Vista 600 and PMC 25.24 speakers, connected up with EWA cabling.

I listen to a mix of music types; rock, blues, jazz, electronic etc and for the most part have not significant noticed sound quality issues with it.

However, there are a number of records, usually those with sustained upper mids like female vocals, loud piano or strings/classical, where the higher frequencies can break up, causing a fuzzy, fizzing distortion that is not pleasant. I have actually sent a few records back thinking they were at fault. Occasionally on some other recordings, uppers can sound little less refined than the rest of the frequency range but mostly seem fine.

The distortion has most often appeared in the right channel but today appeared in the left on a new record!

I know some passages can be challenging in dynamics and really good masterings/pressings often are (that is why we buy them). I have some Analogue Productions discs which fall into this category and they sound amazing. I would have thought a cartridge at this level should be able to cope with dynamic highs and upper mids just fine. It has a reputation for being a good tracker I believe.

With other music like rock, with sharp percussion, it seems to cope just fine, being crisp and clear, hence my delay in doing anything with it, as it is just on some recordings.