advertisement

Recommend me a Soldering Iron please...

beammeup

pfm Member
.... I'm just starting out on my soldering journey and would like to know if the below soldering iron from Amazon is good enough or not? Thanks!

I choose the one below because I thought it might be good for the absolute beginner having all the necessary bits and pieces all in one go.

First task - soldering a wire back onto a tweeter.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0748L82C1/?tag=pinkfishmedia-21

This site contains affiliate links for which pink fish media may be compensated.
I recently bought one of those. It does the job. Probably won’t last as long as some of the more established names but hey ho. I started with the temp set at 330 but that wasn’t high enough so I’ve gone to 370 or so

Well I might aswell get it right first time around... I wouldn't know what temp to set these things at - for just soldering back a tweeter wire probably not very high?

Seconded on the Antex XS25 recommendation. I’d suggest going for the one with the silicone cable (link) as it is far less stiff and doesn’t get in the way in the same way as the standard lead. I love mine and have done everything from speaker leads to computer chips with it.

Edit: thirded!

This site contains affiliate links for which pink fish media may be compensated.
A third vote to Antex. They just work. Great value too, spare tips of graet variety widely/cheaply available.

And mine doesn't have the silicone cable. You should see how many scalds & blebs that cable now carries has after ~10-12yrs of (careful-ish ) use: one of them flirted with disaster (well into the blue /'live' core insulant) after a moments inattention - so yes, go for the silicone lead!

Proskit are a good brand for hobbyists.
In my office we use Hakko

You only need 25W for light soldering, but a common mistake is not to use a much higher powered iron on hard to heat parts like connectors and thick wire.

+1 to that.