advertisement

Quality compact choice

ex brickie

pfm Member
On IQ quality alone how much difference is there between each of the Fuji X100 models (100/100S/100T) and the Leica X1 and Digilux 2?

I realise this list covers cameras many years apart and new technology but the Digilux images on the web seemed pretty good to me. I'd pay a bit more for better IQ

I'll read up on the other pros and cons based on responses here but I'm after a really decent IQ compact for the first time. Then I'll weigh up the value for money argument for myself (in other words, if one is close to another on IQ and a lot cheaper I'll save my money).

Use will be mainly outdoors but will be some use inside (eg gloomy markets) or grey miserable days, dark buildings etc where capturing the mood in detail will be important.

Are you looking at purely image quality alone in a new camera? I have no experience with the Digilux 2 but I will say that the X1 when I had it had more than comparable image quality with the first generation X1 that I had in most areas other then high iso/low light situations. I can only imagine that the X100/X1 would be far superior than the Digilux 2 in both image quality and functionality.

Where the Fuji moves ahead is in its later models in that they would be better than the X1 (that is in less than ideal lighting situations - on a bright day and for most things unless you are pixel peeping a modern phone would create great image quality) and also the autofocus would be fair superior with faster response times in camera.

check out my sony alpha 6000 thread. great starting point and you can then go crazy with leica lenses if a bit more is required.

btw--i use fuji and leica. the sony may become my "carry around" camera.

I'm a long time Leica user, but the only one of the cameras you've mentioned that I've used is the Digilux 2.To be honest I didn't like the electronic viewfinder - too much lag. If I were you I'd try to at least handle the cameras before you buy.