advertisement

Project for the Winter

MJSM

Over 60 and barely alive
I'm new to this part of the forum so please bear with me .....

I fancy a little project for the winter and decided to have a look into this 'DIY' TT section to see how an 'old' well made transcription deck sounds in comparison to my present set-up (a Linn LP12 dare I say).

Not wanting to waste too much money for an unknown result to begin with, I bought this off Ebay yesterday with the intention of turning it into a Sondek-killing superdeck.

OK, enough of the frivolity, I obviously could have bought a dud for all I know about these things, but can anyone tell me how this might compare with a real classic like a Garrard 301/401 or maybe the Thorens 124 ??

I seriously want to know if this can turn into something good or do I just admit my mistake and wait for the real thing. As the postage is likely to cost me 10 times what I paid for it, I would consider paying for it and inviting the seller to re-sell it if it really is a mistake, so all advice is gratefully received.

Thanks for any replies in advance

Mike
P.S. I may need to know more if it is worth doing up regarding plinths, arms etc.

This site contains affiliate links for which pink fish media may be compensated.
Your kidding me right? £24 inc postage it's got to be worth a punt at that!
Seriously, your first point of call should be the VINYL ENGINE , my second favourite forum :)) ). Not that many members and posts can be a bit slow but some very knowledgeable folk there that are into alternative TT's.
They have an good archive section for manuals etc and I do seem to remember a thread on a Dual Idler wheel TT (if that is indeed what you have) a few weeks back.

Paul.

A Dual 1019 is ancient by now. The deck was okay-ish, the arm was barely adequate when the deck was new. It really doesn't stand comparison to a 401 or TD 124, think entry level Pro-ject to LP 12.