advertisement

Play time: NAP140 with SMPS

Mike Hanson

Trying to understand...
Long ago I upgraded my NAP140 to use Avondale NCC200 boards and their corresponding power supply. That left me with a pair of NAP140 boards doing nothing. I've also got a spare Pesante case from Modushop. After watching @laverda play with the Mean Well switchmode power supplies, I thought I would jump into the water. This is my first time trying to use an SMPS in a build, so I'm really not sure what to expect.

First of all, I wasn't sure that the NAP140 boards would still work, as they've been bouncing around my office, standing in for NCC200, VBE, HCR200, etc. in various layout plans. Therefore, I didn't want to buy big supplies, if it turned out they would be unnecessary. Consequently, I got two inexpensive 36V 50W units (a.k.a. LRS-50-36), so I could do a proof of concept. 100W is likely insufficient for two NAP110 boards used in anger. However, if this test worked, then I could add two more and go dual-mono, so each channel would have 100W.

I dialed them up to 40V, and bridged them to create 40V-0-40V. (I believe the original NAP110 supply is closer to 42V-0-42V, but I didn't want to push the little units too far.)

Here's the current state of affairs:

[URL='https://avzine.com/images/nap140-smps/a.jpg'][/URL]

All the voltages measure fine, and the speaker output DC offset voltage is <= 20mv for each channel. I'm waiting for some banana connectors, so I can't actually try to play music through them yet.

I did notice something interesting, though. When the SMPS units are not connected to the boards, then they are dead silent. However, when I hook them up to the two boards, they both emit a piercing whine almost like a dentist's waterpick. I've got countless switchmode supplies in my house, and none of them make noise like this.