advertisement

Placebo

Well, presumably with one of their CDs and an blank one as the control.

(sorry)

I'm no expert, but "Placebo" and "Meds" are enjoyed a lot in this household. Meds was our 8 year old son's music of choice to listen to for a good while - not quite sure what that's done to his mind....

I reckon Meds is the best -- it's certainly the only album of theirs i stil listen to, just the occaisional track off other ones..
The "Once More With Feeling" best of (or possibly singles collection, not sure) is a fairly good all round view.

Nancy Boy is a good song. So you just need 79p from i tunes.

Kevin

Thanks for the hints.

I had a good listen and I think they are a bit weak. Songs seem ok-ish but there's no real drive in the later material. It chugs in places but as they develop as a band it starts to feel very derivative very quickly a shame as they clearly know what they are doing but they soon take directions that are predictable and almost on a road map... The most recent stuff is really rather unsurprising to me. I also don't like the near-constant psychoanalysis that seems to creep in. Good in parts... lots of good subject material but what is holding them back?

Thanks for the hints.

I had a good listen and I think they are a bit weak. Songs seem ok-ish but there's no real drive in the later material. It chugs in places but as they develop as a band it starts to feel very derivative very quickly a shame as they clearly know what they are doing but they soon take directions that are predictable and almost on a road map... The most recent stuff is really rather unsurprising to me. I also don't like the near-constant psychoanalysis that seems to creep in. Good in parts... lots of good subject material but what is holding them back?

Yeah I think that's a fair enough assessment. I prefer Meds but mainly because I hadn't particularly listened to much of the old stuff beforehand so it didn't feel particularly tired.