advertisement

Ornette Coleman - Genesis of Genius Boxset

Just got round to ordering this set after hearing OC’s stuff on my phone recently. Really looking forward to it, better to get it now than when it’s sold-out and overpriced.

I have no experience of Craft. While I am happy that these records are being properly reissued, I am dismayed that Concord too is getting into the game of reissuing old records in supposedly 'boutique, artisanal' packages at higher and higher prices. But I suppose this is late stage capitalism...lets milk it for what it's worth...

The Contemporary Ornettes are good but there are more interesting and important Ornette albums around.

The Contemporary Ornettes are good but there are more interesting and important Ornette albums around.

Thomas Conrad interviewing legendary engineer Roy DuNann in 2001 (for the April 2002 edition of Stereophile) about Ornette recording his first LP Something Else!!! for Contemporary:

Conrad - “What was it like to come in and set up for a session with a new musician you didn’t know, and hear Ornette Coleman play like that? Jazz was changed forever from that moment. It must have been incredible. You were there, Roy, what did you think?”

DuNann - “I would have sent him home.”

(Taken from Conrad’s essay in Round Trip. Anyhow - it amused me......)

…The Contemporary Ornettes are good but there are more interesting and important Ornette albums around.

These two albums sound really fun though - and besides, I don’t own either of them on any format so I’m delighted to get them.

I guess. I do love them though. To me it's astonishing how Ornette arrived seemingly fully formed. I should read the recent bio.

P.S. Which 1958 LP came first? Something Else!!! or Somethin' Else?

P.S. Which 1958 LP came first? Something Else!!! or Somethin' Else?

Cannonball Adderley recorded at Van Gelder’s Hackensack home studio, New Jersey. 9th March 1958. Release date ?? But probably before Coleman in 1958.