advertisement

Opinions of MFSL recordings...

Originally posted by Jonathan Ribee

Where people have often criticised MFSL discs it was mostly the half speed mastered vinyl. I have had no experience of these myself, but other half speed remasters I have played have been a mixed bunch - the recent Underworld re-releases were superb.

I have a number of vinyl half speed masters from MF & others and would comment that they all have a greater dynamic range together with a much better signal to background noise ratio than the equivalent normal versions.

Mark

Mixed feelings really. It's interesting to read the earlier comments about Crime Of The Century because I'd describe it exactly the same. Not sure I like it. I've heard a few by Elton John that do sound pretty good.

I've got some half speed mastered vinyl, and I recall that it was perhaps more detailed, but lacking in bottom end compared to normal speed.

Is the Simply Vinyl issue of Nirvana's "Nevermind" anywhere near as good as the MoFi version, or is it more like the compressed standard issue? Curious really, as I have it on CD (I have "Bleach" and "MTV Unplugged" on vinyl and CD, and "Unplugged" on Simply Vinyl sounds fantastic...

BTW - I've also tried out the first CD pressing of DSOTM v the 1992 special edition v MoFi - and the 1992 one came out the clear winner, with MoFi somewhere in the middle.

"Is the Simply Vinyl issue of Nirvana's "Nevermind" anywhere near as good as the MoFi version"

Well, I don't rate the any of Mobile Fidelity Anadisc 200g records of which the Nevermind vinyl is a part.

However, the Nevermind CD is a great improvement on the 'normal' CD to my ears - less compressed, more music.