advertisement

olive 250 into nap200 chassis

longmanjon

pfm Member
hi all

someone has the all the internals of a naim olive 250, and i currently have a NAP200 which i would like to keep the same chassis type, is possible to install the 250 parts into the 200 given a bit of mechanical work?
i am a mechanical engineer so have some skills at least.

jon

Yes, the casework is exactly the same size.

Probably not he most financially sensible move though since you effectively destroy a 200 and you won't get much for its leftover parts.

There was a whole CB 250 on yesterday at a BIN of £750 which looks as though it's been serviced by witchhat and has inherited the final revision of amp and regulator boards.

Alternatively just buy a 250.2 and sell your 200. I doubt that will cost much more than a net £500 at present.

Hang on a minute.... are you absolutely sure that you will prefer the sound from a vintage 250 ?
I ask this because I have heard both in my system and was surprised at the outcome.
Best that you don't get a nasty surprise.

I agree with colasblue and nws56 on this one, it doesn't make much sense to do this, even though the guts would fit in a NAP200 case you would have to drill it quite a bit to mount the 250 guts, so even if you put the NAP200 back together that's a lot of the resale value lost, and you would struggle to sell olive 250 guts in a 200 case - Naim buyers are often fussy about big mods, a couple of caps here and there ok, but wholesale changes like this would be a no go for most buyers. Also as nws56 said soundwise it might not be worth it to you. If you want to have a play and have ALL the guts of the olive 250 (xfmr/PSU bridges/PSU caps/wiring and the 4 boards etc etc) you could go for the "holy crap that's dangerous" option and screw it all to a slab of aluminum as a temporoary trial and see what you think.