advertisement

New Quad ESL57 stands...

Dowser

Learning to bodge again..
A friend here in Ireland (Fran @ TirnaHiFi.org - posts on here a bit too, but mostly in DIY) rebuilt an old set of 57s recently, and then designed some stands for them. As they lift the speaker higher off the ground I also got a set. Fitted them last week, and very impressed I am too! They look great (I like the plain finish, but you can stain them if you wanted to I guess), and have an adjustable back foot that allows you to vary the listening angle all the way up to vertical (where they are still stable).

I know Fran has tha CAD files available, so could potentially have his arm twisted into making some more if anyone is interested :)

The 57s replace 63s that I have been using for last 12 months or so - I think I prefer the 57s, but it is too soon to tell - need to listen a little longer and then try swapping back again.

Photos below;

I used some brown rubber stick on draught exluder between the stand and original grill on this side - it looks better to me, and grips the grill better (I never refitted the staples when I rebuilt the EHT units) - I must go back and do the other side now. I also spent some time getting the routing to perfectly match the curve at the top of the grill - it isn't visible, so not sure why I bothered, but I feel better for having done it!;

5679528867_04804ae527_o.jpg

5680088278_48b85e9e10_o.jpg

5679527499_8eb7a8d080_o.jpg

You can see the single additional screw into the original frame to give more strength to the structure - the side cheek screws do not go that far into the wood (not would you want them to...too far and you'll damage the panels). I took it even further on the other speaker, adding another screw at the top too (see below);

5679526925_2743b9fccb_o.jpg

I put an additional screw at the top to this one (you can just see it to the right of the top brass side-cheek screw - too much sun, sorry!), and will go back and do the other side too soon;