advertisement

Neat Iota Alpha

Heard them at the Bristol show sounded very good as above an iota with more bass only negative price looks to be a bit higher than I was hoping for

Haven't heard the existing Iotas but the Alphas look like they could be a 'neat' solution in a normal domestic setting. Personally I think many speakers stand too tall or are too visually dominant to be able to blend in, so always been keen on unusual designs like Arcs, Larcs, and smaller monitor speakers.

I have read that the planar tweeter works well and integrates better with the driver than many ribbon types. I'm no expert with this type of speaker, but certainly keen to hear.

Bit of a rip off of the Naim logo in that badge at the bottom! Convenient brand positioning now that Naim are not producing speakers? I could just be overly cynical!

I heard these at the Bristol Show too and thought they sounded very good. However, I think they look like a dehumidifier - not to my taste.

Price seems reasonable to me. All speakers cost 7-10 times more than the cost of parts. That's just how it is.

Keith, Neat has had that logo for quite some time now, not as long as Naim since they changed logos though(I don't believe). But I can see where one might think....

The ALPHAs really have to be heard to be believed. Nothing else out there I know of produces such a big sound from such a small package. It is not just the physics-bending big sound/small box trickery which impresses though. They are also a supremely enjoyable listen, even better than I remember from the Bristol show. They have an immersive quality which draws you in like few others at this price point.

I get to listen to considerably more exotic speakers on a daily basis, but I could happily live with a pair of these. At £1,385 a pair they are an absolute bargain.

Neat%20Iota%20ALPHA%201.jpg