advertisement

NAPSC substitute?

rabbit

pfm Member
I am using a NAC102 without a NAPSC to power its digital "bits". Can I just use any 18v switch mode wallwart or laptop power supply? I understand that it only needs 0.5A. The price of NAPSC's seems ridiculous for what they do.

Thanks.

Hi,

I have just the thing complete with the correct plug. I had two, the other one is working a treat on a mates 102. PM me and we can sort out a price, it will by loads cheaper than a Naim one:)

Pete

I have little experience of such things, but have heard that some switched PSUs can dump noise into the mains, so it may be better going for a non switched PSU if you can.

Indeed I do and at £38 -vs- £265, saves quite a few bob.

In common with the Salisbury offering, my version makes not one jot of difference to the sound. (This data is published in the interests of balanced reporting).

"Indeed I do and at £38 -vs- £265, saves quite a few bob."

Les
is that the same NAPSC unit you fit in the Multicap or do you use something else ?

Indeed I do and at £38 -vs- £265, saves quite a few bob.

In common with the Salisbury offering, my version makes not one jot of difference to the sound. (This data is published in the interests of balanced reporting).
Les - are you saying that it is absolutely not worth putting a NAPSC (or lookalike) on a 102?

I am using a NAC102 without a NAPSC to power its digital "bits". Can I just use any 18v switch mode wallwart or laptop power supply?

In my opinion no! Use a non switching power supply here. The NAC102 has big problems with HF-frequencies. The problems comes from the arrangement of the ground lines. A 18-20V / 0.5-1A power pack with a normal transformer and a LM317 works here better.

Peter

Les - are you saying that it is absolutely not worth putting a NAPSC (or lookalike) on a 102?