advertisement

Naim sound quality before and after a service

greg788

pfm Member
I have an Olive NAP250. It's been 10 years or so since the last service. I got a good deal on it since it was a dealer trade in. I have no experience with servicing. I like the way it sounds now -- dark, smooth, sophisticated (compared to a NAP150x). Almost tube/valve like, honestly

In your experience, will it retain those sonic characteristics after a service or will it end up sounding more up front and relentless? I'm worried that it sounds good because it's "tired"

I have an Olive NAP250. It's been 10 years or so since the last service. I got a good deal on it since it was a dealer trade in. I have no experience with servicing. I like the way it sounds now -- dark, smooth, sophisticated (compared to a NAP150x). Almost tube/valve like, honestly

In your experience, will it retain those sonic characteristics after a service or will it end up sounding more up front and relentless? I'm worried that it sounds good because it's "tired"
Mine has never really sounded like that but I have had it serviced twice because it developed a fault. I run SBLs though which are lean though

Greg, it might help if you let us know the other gear involved in setup

It would be a shame to get it serviced but then regret it. Might seem like a bonkers idea, but what about buying a second hand serviced one and then keep the unit you prefer?

Not the same, but I slightly preferred my red LED Nait 1 once it came back from service at Class A last year. Hard to be sure but I think it removed the last sign of 'relentlessness' - not that my Nait 1s have ever shown much of that characteristic. It's only the Olive 72/140 (unserviced) and, to a far lesser extent, the Nait 2 (unserviced) that have shown an 'in your face' fatuiging tendancy, although perhaps their partnerred equipment was not ideal.