advertisement

Naim SNAIC

Martyn Miles

pfm Member
Could PFMers help me out. I'm new to Naim, having just bought a used CD 3.5 ( which is superb, by the way...) No Instruction Manual. I was suppied with a grey 5 pin DIN terminated cable, with locking collars. A SNAIC, I believe. No blanking plug, but buyer eventually supplied it. Made a temporary one until it arrived. Bought a recommended cable to go from the Naim DIN output to my amplifier's phono input. (I'm not using a Naim amplifier) I discovered the SNAIC supplies power from a Flatcap (strange name...) As I will not be using an external supply for reasons too complex to discuss here, I wondered if the SNAIC's a sellable item. I need to re-coup some costs. Any advice will be helpful. By the way, the grey lead has a label, NA-22, on it. Special SNAIC or year of manufacture code ? Martyn .

I think the number just relates to who made it and does not signify any model etc. Grey Snaics are not very sought after unfortunately and go for around £10.00. The black ones fetch around £40 - £50.00 on ebay.

The thin lavender signal only cables go for about £25.00.

Regards

I think the number just relates to who made it and does not signify any model etc. Grey Snaics are not very sought after unfortunately and go for around £10.00. The black ones fetch around £40 - £50.00 on ebay.

The thin lavender signal only cables go for about £25.00.

Regards
Thanks.

its not a snaic, snaics are more grey and much thicker - you've got a naim signal cable - for connecting the cdp to a naim pre amp

i didnt say it came with any cables, just threw a naim signal cable in to get you going when you get a naim pre - which i predict you will! a nac12 is cheap and good!!

The 3.5 is somewhat shrill without a PSU, get a flatcap at min.

Superb cheap pre amp is the NAC 42.5