advertisement

NAIM CD3 Mods and servicing...& the anatomy of the mother board.

What you are talking about--"hums through the case"--sounds like transformer hum caused by grunge on the mains. If that's what it is, not much to be done about it.

Thanks, but the amp doesn't hum at all. Though it used to sometimes in the afternoons when the mains were particularly dirty for some reason. Would the CD3 hum if the amp doesn't?

yairf.

Thanks, if that was intended for me. I don't really understand but I probably know a man who does.

Thanks, but the amp doesn't hum at all. Though it used to sometimes in the afternoons when the mains were particularly dirty for some reason. Would the CD3 hum if the amp doesn't?

Seems possible. I'm no expert but if the transformer is made by someone else or is of different specifications then it might well hum in the amp's transformer doesn't.

OK, so the job is now complete and the CD seems to be playing beautifully, but thought it might be worth reporting my findings.

The player actually belongs to another PFM'er who sent it to me for attention as:
  • It was dead in one channel
  • Skips incessantly
  • and just doesn't sound right.

When I first got it it was definitely not right - and reported an "err" on about 50% of the discs I tried (most of my discs have been ripped once and then stored - so are in perfect condition). On others it definitely skipped with some frequency.

First time opening up a CD player so I was a little nervous to say the least - and quite surprised to find out how simple it was inside. The dead channel turned out to be nothing more than lose connection at the DIN - easily solved and pretty quickly it was firing on both cylinders again.

So then I tried a few mods:
  • Removed the rectifier and replaced with a set of 4 MUR415s for rectification.
  • Replaced the reservoir caps with 12,000uF CDEs
  • Replaced the final pair of opapms with OPA627APs
  • Removed the output coupling caps and