advertisement

Mayware Formula 4 Mk III Tonearm

Hello,

Forum newbie here. I’m working on restoring my Mayware Formula 4 Mk III tonearm. It’s missing the counter weight and bias weight. Since it’s unlikely I can source these weights I thought I might try having them fabricated. Does anyone have information on size and weight, hole id’s and so forth?

Thanks in advance.

I have one on a turntable packed away in a box somewhere. If you can't get everything that you need from vinylengine and/or responses in the thread let me know. Not sure about the Mk III though.

Sorry, I saw nothing in that referencing my original post. I just looking for some information on the tone arm weights from some Mayware formula users.

Thanks

IIRC, and maybe I'm getting this wrong, but are you not a fan and user of the Mayware arm?
Oh yes! Just tired, sorry!
The counterweight is 83,5 grammes. But beware, it is eccentric!
Bias weight is 7 grammes.
sfVwaIL.jpg

What is the internal diameter of the hole in the counterweight, or the external diameter of the rear of the tonearm?

What is the internal diameter of the hole in the counterweight, or the external diameter of the rear of the tonearm?
Your question is odd. What do you exactly have? It just has to fit the rear stub! Same tube as the wand exactly: 6.03 mm.

I was going to have a look in my box of 'bits' to see if I have anything to suit that may be of use to the OP. I would need to know counterweight hole diameter (or size of the rear of the tonearm if one doesn't have the counterweight to hand to measure) to see if anything I have would be any use, though.

Thanks for the edit with the addition of the size, I can have a look to see if I have anything suitable.

Not necessarily but may be of some help/interest?