advertisement

Mac mini vs streamers / servers?

novak

pfm Member
Hello all,

I was talking to a dealer today and he recommended I try a dedicated music server / streamer vs my Mac Mini. He believes the Mac is not designed for high quality music playback.

I have read (and believed for years) that it wouldn’t make any difference as it’s the DAC that does all the work. I have heard the Mac is more than capable, and Naim (or similar) servers / streamers are a waste of money.

However, I have no first hand experience. I have always used a Mac into a DAC as a source.

My system is:
- Mac Mini with a lossless flac library in iTunes, and Spotify for new discoveries and background music.
- Chord Qutest DAC
- Jadis Orchestra Ref SE amplifier
- Harbeth P3ESR speakers

Any thoughts? Worth a try, or stick to the Mac?

Hello all,

I was talking to a dealer today and he recommended I try a dedicated music server / streamer vs my Mac Mini. He believes the Mac is not designed for high quality music playback.

I have read (and believed for years) that it wouldn’t make any difference as it’s the DAC that does all the work. I have heard the Mac is more than capable, and Naim (or similar) servers / streamers are a waste of money.

However, I have no first hand experience. I have always used a Mac into a DAC as a source.

My system is:
- Mac Mini with a lossless flac library in iTunes, and Spotify for new discoveries and background music.
- Chord Qutest DAC
- Harbeth P3ESR speakers

So take him up on the offer and report back

In my experience, and I still run a 2010 mini, there's an element of truth in there. If you can shut off the bluetooth and the Wifi for example it does help...

I‘de be happy to try out anything the dealer recommends at my home, as long as I am not required to pay for it (in advance).

Maybe that does not include 500 quid silver Cat 7 or USB cables though, there is only so much a man can take...

Hello all,

My system is:
- Chord Qutest DAC