advertisement

Jazz

Frankiesays

Rats is life.
Seen as I've been getting into this genre for the past year, thought I'd start an open ended thread on it. What do people listen to, favourite lps etc. I'm quite new to it myself, so have just been buying better known artists on classic labels like Blue Note and Prestige. One thing I find is that alot of the 50s/60s stuff is hard to tell apart, but come the 70s, then different songs are more memorable, and artists develop more of a persona. Just discoverd Horace Silvers 'Total response' and it is incredible, some of the lyrics are hilarious, but the tunes are awesome, I guess this is straying into soul/jazz territory, which makes it more listenable and hence memorable, or may'be its just Silver, his only other 2 lps I know are 'Songs for my father' and Cape verde blues', both contain very strong tunes, rather than the endless monotone trumpet playng of various other Blue noters.......... I really like 70s jazz in general and its various cross overs, anything else to reccomend?

Check out some Jaco Pastorius with Weather Rerport and on his own. Also Herbie Hancock from the '70s period and of course Miles.

Interested. This might stop my higgledy piggledy method of taking in jazz. I have no clue.

Jazz is no different to R&R, C&W, Folk,, Blues and as a real extreme example, Classical. They are each a catch-all genre that covers zillions of different styles and forms, so of pretty much little or no use for most people when working out what they like, unless you happen to like (virtually) ALL Jazz, R&R, C&W, Folk, Blues or Classical, or whatever...……....

I like loads of Classical, but Baroque covers the great majority of what I especially like.
I like loads of Jazz, but West-Coast/Cool covers a great deal of what I like.

and so on...………………………..

Jazz alone has been split/classified into a huge number of sub-genre - you can find as many as 40, or probably more.