advertisement

Jazz sub-genres

scotty38

pfm Member
Anyone reading the Tone Poet, 80th or Rendell Carr threads will already know I'm new to Jazz or rather my enjoyment of it has recently clicked for reasons I cannot explain.

However I am confused about its sub-genres, more accurately what/who fits into which and how you know which is which. I have read the wiki pages etc that explain the differences, or try to, but I am still at a loss to know what constitutes Hard Bop for example.

Can anyone point me to a better idiots guide or want to take a shot at giving me some pointers please?

Thanks in advance....

Scotty, have you seen this Wiki page list with links. Hard Bop is not seperately described, but tends to have more Rhythm and Blues and Gospel influence and tends to be a bit more hard hitting than Be Bop. All these terms were really labels put on the music by journalists in the 50's and 60's and there is a fair bit of overlap, style change even within Records.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_jazz_genres

Edit: Here is a Wiki page on Hard Bop.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hard_bop

Thanks, yes I have seen those, they're the ones I looked at. That was my view too that there appears to be a fair amount of overlap and I have seen records on here described as Hard Bop for example but even with the wiki explanation I am not sure I could have worked that out myself. I appreciate that a lot of it perhaps comes down to experience though.

I wouldn't worry about it too much to be honest. Lots of sub-genres are fairly fluid or arbitrary (depending on which way you look at it) and the terms used sometimes change over time - loft jazz, spiritual jazz, deep jazz etc. - or have different connotations to different people. Just listen to loads of records and you'll get a feel for different styles.

Lots of music is like this - I can't tell my vapourwave from my witch house but I'm not going to lose any sleep over it :)