advertisement

issue with active Linn Kaber set-up

hi all,

Happy for many years with my active Linn Kaber speaker setup (powered by 3* LK100), but now I do have an issue.

The problem is that my left treble tweeter is making significant 'noise' (right is dead quiet, same for bass/midrange). The sound is there even when source and preamp are turned off/power cable disconnected.

My best guess is that it must be related to the LK100 amp. so I quess there are 2 options that's causing the issue: a) the amp or b) the aktiv card.

My working assumption is that its caused by option b) the aktiv card (but im not a electrical engineer so its a pure guess).
Question: Do you agree or do I miss something?

related to above: i'm planning to buy a treble activ card for Kaber. I have 2 questions here:
1) will a 'Keltic treble active card' also fit?
2) is there a 'left' and 'right' version of the treble aktiv card, or are they are both the same (thats what I assume)?

Looking forward to your thoughts on the matter, thanks!

PS: maybe obvious but when LK100 is powered off the hissing is gone

I’d swap the cards into a known good lk100 and test before you go any further.

an amp failure is far more likely than a card failure

I’d swap the cards into a known good lk100 and test before you go any further.

an amp failure is far more likely than a card failure

/////////////////////////

aha, good suggestion to swap with other LK100 and I didn't know that amp failure is far more likely. Another question pops up: what do you think to be more cost effective/less hassle, buy a 2nd hand LK100 amp or bring 'broken amp' in for repair?

The cards can and do fail, they are pretty reliable but so are LK100s, but all the components are pretty ancient now.

I can highly recommend and provide details for Kevin Green who will get your system back to full health and for very reasonable prices.