advertisement

[Images Alert!!] Newbie here, a long intro, and a question about quad 306

Hi All,

This is Tirthankar from India, and this is my first post over here.

A little background first.. sorry if you find it too lengthy.

I recently started on this audio journey by getting myself a very basic home theater system containing a denon receiver and a Polk sub-sat system.
Initially it was great, but when I listened to stereo songs on that system, I felt that there was more that can be had.

I decided to get myself a dedicated stereo, with a stereo amplifier and a pair of bookshelves. I listen primarily to classic rock(pink floyd), soft vocals and country (Diana Krall, John Denver, Neil Diamond, Don McLean, Don Williams and the likes), lots of instrumentals of various genres and western classical. Sometimes I also listen to modern pop and some metal (Metallica, Iron Maiden).
I started scouting around demoing systems available in my city in my budget. I listened to Mordaunt Short Aviano, Epos, Quad and Focal JMLabs speakers on CA, Creek and Denon amps. Though everywhere I was blown away by the level of detail and size of the music, I couldnt find any combination which could satisfy me. Except a Cayin Class A 40 W amp with the epos speaker. It was just right, smooth and detailed, velvety with no hard edges. But the amp was too expensive for me.

But I heard the best I had till then when a very experienced audiophile in my city kindly invited me to listen to his system, a heavily modded quad 606 coupled with a B&W 802 matrix. Those 3 hours I was in audio nirvana.:D
The gentleman advised me to get a quad 306 for an amp, and being a newbie that I am, after a long dilly dally of getting a used amp off ebay, I finally ordered one and it arrived today.