advertisement

How do you find interesting music ...

Originally posted by matt j
I'm a complete novice where classical is concerned, although i feel the urge to listen to some piano based classical, is there anybody to listen to that fits the bill for a beginner?

Try Beethoven's most listened-to sonatas, commonly found together on the same recording, "Moonlight", "Pathétique", "Apassionata". A blend of great melody and virtuoso bravura. And don't forget Chopin - a "greatest hits" selection is a good way into "the poet of the piano".

If you want orchestra with your piano, Beethoven's five piano concertos are a great place to start. Again the great Beethoven combination of gorgeous melody and virtuosity.

There are plenty of good, cheap recordings around. Some of the older recordings are great, both from the interpretation and recording points of view.

Originally posted by matt j
I'm a complete novice where classical is concerned, although i feel the urge to listen to some piano based classical, is there anybody to listen to that fits the bill for a beginner?

Radio3 is your friend. Just listen to the radio and buy what you discover.

I'm something of a beginner at this myself, but I've got Pizarro's recordings on Linn - the Chopin in particular might be well-suited for a 'learner'.

If your tastes also extend towards the Jazzy end of the spectrum, then this might get you going too.

There, that's my classical knowledge exposed for all to mock. Let's hope a grown-up comes along soon.

S.

This site contains affiliate links for which pink fish media may be compensated.
Re: Critical list

Another one to check out on the Stuart Maconie front is 'Stuart MacOnies Freak Zone' on Radio 6...I listen to it on t'internet...well worth silding on over http://www.bbc.co.uk/6music/ and having a lisen to an old show...lots of left field stuff and some real crackers amongst the new stuff.

Cheers

Paul

PFM !