advertisement

Help me choose a DAC...?

Funk

pfm Member
I have an Audiolab M-DAC which I've found has become intermittent when turned on - the left channel comes and goes for a bit but does eventually stabilise. After my recent issues with dying caps in my old Cyrus amp (now sorted) I decided to eyeball the inside of the M-DAC and wished I hadn't...

Wli5Sh9.jpg

I'm no expert but I know they shouldn't look like that... I'm taking the opportunity to source a new or used DAC and I'll send the M-DAC off for a complete re-capping and work out whether I keep it or not down the line.

One of the features I really need in whatever I get is the ability to control the DAC's volume via my PC - something the M-DAC offers with the 'Accept control' option in its USB menu. However, it isn't something that most DACs I've looked at seem to talk about in their specs or manuals. I'm hoping some of the knowledgeable folk here might be able to give me a steer with some recommendations. Not looking to go nuts; probably up to £600ish budget for a replacement. Ones I'm considering:

• MDAC+ might be the logical step here tbh - I assume it offers the same USB volume control as the M-DAC?
  • Cambridge Audio CXN V2 - a little over budget though and again I'm not sure if it does what I need - the native streaming and bluetooth stuff might be convenient though
  • Whaleblue has a Topping D50 for sale for about a ton which I've PM'd about...
As for the rest of the kit it's nothing remarkable - PC runs MusicBee/Spotify into the DAC (ASIO for MusicBee), that goes into an XTZ A100 D3 which is driving Celestion A3s. I don't really need loads of bells and whistles (like the CXN V2) - are there other DACs I should be taking a look at...?

The caps are obviously in a bad way
But has some one had a go at modding it already?
It looks very much like it's been played with before?

I'm no expert but I know they shouldn't look like that...