advertisement

Good vintage CD player buys?

I've been using the same Sony CDP-XB930 for 20+ years. I still really like it! But I sometimes wonder whether an ancient British players from Naim, Meridian etc. might be fun.

What are the good buys for under £400 that aren't going to die on me?

Should I be looking to buy a NOS laser at the same time?

My favorite vintage is a classic Phillips or its British equivalent the Mission DAD 7000. Real vintage warm sound, built like a tank and lovely look IMO.
Other options are the Linn, the Mimik can be bought with spare change and play music in a great way.

TBH my favourite has turned out to be the Pioneer PDR-509 Audio CD *recorder*! I got two of these many years ago to make CDRs of various analogue material and to suppliment my Nak cassette deck. They are very tolerant of the disc variabilities, and you can also connect their spdif to an external DAC if you dislike the 'Legato Link' they output.

Afraid my old Meridian transport was a PITA, although their DACs were OK. So using one of their DACs with the above can give the best of both worlds.

Afraid my old Meridian transport was a PITA, although their DACs were OK. So using one of their DACs with the above can give the best of both worlds.

Funnily enough I noticed on the Lampizator site last night that he described the 207 as one of the worst 'shed built' CD player mechanisms he's ever seen! But he rather liked the 506.20.

Thanks for the suggestions. Won't be buying anything this month but very interested to hear what people suggest.

P.S. Would a Naim CD 3.5 be a really silly buy?

TBH my favourite has turned out to be the Pioneer PDR-509 Audio CD *recorder*! I got two of these many years ago to make CDRs of various analogue material and to suppliment my Nak cassette deck. They are very tolerant of the disc variabilities, and you can also connect their spdif to an external DAC if you dislike the 'Legato Link' they output.