advertisement

Good source of 2nd hand cheap CD's

Bourneendboy

pfm Member
I've been streaming for a couple of years, but now want to get back to buying CD's and ripping them as I tend to have favourite albums and listen to them most of the time.

I'm aware of Music Magpie and buying on Ebay of course, but are there any other recommendations for a source of cheap CD's.

Charity shops. So you have to take “pot luck”, but shops like Oxfam sell CDs for around 3-5 quid (last time in Winchester, I walked out with 7 for about £27, having put several more back!). And Oxfam are considered “expensive” according to my brother, who does the rounds on a regular basis. He reckons he can find music DVDs for a quid apiece, watches them once and then passes them on me and my sister at Xmas and birthdays - this Xmas I got Genesis, Police, Clapton, Damned, ZZ Top and several others.

YMCA sell CD's 50p each in our locality. With the caveat, that they are mostly rubbish.

Amazon or PayBay cover you for dud stuff and between them probably offer the easiest, simplest options at the cheapest prices - with Amazon you even get ludicrously low postage from abroad (usually the USA). CDs via Discogs are OK too, but would be hassle if you get a dud.
I have only ever been ripped-off once - by Zoverstocks, now called Music Magpie. It was only for something like £1.50, but they'll never get another penny from me, and I spend appreciably over £100 per month on records, CD's and occasionally DVD's, they lost out in just a very few months in all probability.

I have no idea how many used CD's I've bought - a small number of 100's probably, and had 2 duds. One was refunded in full with the offer of anything else from the seller at half price. What is common is really scruffy cases, but then some people ditch those anyway.

Oh that this was all true for LPs....